Skip to Content

Academic Quality Agency for New Zealand Universities

AQA provides external academic quality assurance for all New Zealand universities via a five-yearly cycle of audits. Key principles underpinning AQA academic audits are: peer review, evidence-based, externally benchmarked, and enhancement-led. Learn more about our current cycle of academic audits here.


Recent reports: 2016 Academic Audit of the University of Otago

Otago report coverThe report of the 2016 Academic Audit of the Audit of the University of Otago was released on 20 September, 2016. The University of Otago academic audit was the seventh to be conducted of a New Zealand university using the Cycle 5 methodology. Cycle 5 audits cover all aspects of a university which are related to teaching, learning and student support. The audit panel made a total of twelve commendations, seven affirmations and six recommendations. The full report and executive summary can be found here.


Registration for the Academic Benchmarking Workshop 2016

The National University of Samoa is hosting an Academic Benchmarking Workshop through their Academic Quality Unit from Nov 30th - Dec 2nd, 2016. Discussion and dialogue would be on topics of current significance to university educators around the region.Kindly note that the NUS is providing a 4-night stay accommodation for all the international participants. The Benchmarking Workshop Programme and Benchmarking flyer is available here. Registrations are now open.

Registration for the Support for Quality Conference 2016

Registration for AQA's Support for Quality conference is now open. Please register your details.

Support for Quality Conference 2016

AQA’s Support for Quality conference will be held on Thursday 13 October, 2016 at Te Wharewake o Pōneke on the Wellington waterfront.  The day is organized into 4 sessions: (1) Reflecting on Cycle 5 and previous cycles; (2) Considering quality assurance models in other jurisdictions; (3) Current issues and sharing good practice – with guest speaker Dr Sara Booth from the University of Tasmania; (4) Discussing options for Cycle 6.  A draft programme is available here.  Further contributions and ideas for sessions are invited.  Registration for the day is $220.00 plus GST.  Please contact for further information. 

Latest Newsletter

30 September 2016: Our September newsletter is available now. The AQA newsletter is produced four times each year - in March, June, September and December. You can subscribe to our email distribution list. To unsubscribe at any time, click here.

Auckland University of Technology Audit Report

18 April 2016: The Board of the Academic Quality Agency for New Zealand Universities has released the report of the 2015 Cycle 5 Academic Audit of Auckland University of Technology.