Board members are appointed by the New Zealand Vice-Chancellors Committee (NZVCC) from nominations made by the organisations listed. The Chair is appointed by NZVCC. The Deputy Chair is appointed by NZVCC from the appointed Board members and after considering the advice of the Board. Functions of the Board are defined in the Constitution.

The AQA Board

AQA Board

Sitting Left to Right: Professor Emerita Deborah Willis, Emeritus Professor Pat Walsh (Chair), Dr Kaye McAulay
Standing Left to Right: Daniel Haines, Professor Neil Quigley, James Heath, Professor Jack Heinemann, Emeritus Professor Sheelagh Matear (Executive Director AQA)

Emeritus Professor Pat Walsh PhD (Minnesota)

- Chair of the Board

Professor Emerita Deborah Willis BA MA (Cant), PhD (Well)

Emeritus Professor Sheelagh Matear BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD

- Executive Director

Professor Sheelagh Matear has been Executive Director of AQA since February 2016. She was previously Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic Quality and Student Experience) at Lincoln University. Professor Matear completed her PhD in nautical studies at Plymouth University in the UK. She then moved to the University of Arizona where she worked in the office of economic development. Professor Matear moved to New Zealand to take up a position in the Marketing Department at the University of Otago before moving to her current position.

Professor Neil Quigley BA MA(Hons) Canterbury PhD Toronto

- Vice-Chancellor

Member of the New Zealand Vice-Chancellors' Committee.

Professor Jack Heinemann BSc(Hons) Wisconsin-Madison, PhD Oregon

Nominated by the New Zealand Tertiary Education Union. 

Daniel Haines

Dr Kaye McAulay PhD (Victoria)

James Heath

- New Zealand Union of Students' Associations (NZUSA) nominee