Who we are


AQA is comprised of:
- a Board
- a Register of Auditors
- a Secretariat (headed by a director).


AQA’s governing Board is appointed by Universities NZ and includes nominations from the Vice-Chancellors, the Tertiary Education Union, students and appropriately experienced persons drawn from the wider community.


Academic audits are carried out by panels of 4-6 auditors appointed from AQA’s Register of Auditors and Reviewers and trained by AQA (or another quality assurance body). Auditors are most commonly senior academics or professionals experienced in quality assurance who have been identified by AQA as meeting specific criteria pertaining to academic audit of a university. All New Zealand audit panels include at least one overseas auditor, and Cycle 6 Academic Audits will also include students or recent graduates.


AQA works through a small team based in Wellington.
For more information about AQA, click here.